Power bank rules worldwide: airline and country limits
How many you can take, how big, and whether you can use one in flight, for airlines and authorities in Europe, Asia, the Middle East, Australia and the Americas.
The short answer
Almost everywhere the baseline is the same: power banks go in your carry-on, never your checked bag; most places now allow two per person; 100 Wh is the safe size; and you must not recharge a power bank from aircraft power. The International Civil Aviation Organization (ICAO) brought in the two-bank limit and the no-recharging rule on 27 March 2026, and IATA tells airlines to apply them.
The differences are in using a power bank to charge your phone in flight, in the number (1 on Emirates, Etihad, flydubai, Wizz Air and WestJet) and in the size (160 Wh on Qantas, easyJet and Jet2, 100 Wh on British Airways and most others). The airline operating your flight sets the rule you follow, so check its page.
Rules that catch people out
- Only one power bank: Emirates, Etihad, flydubai, Wizz Air and WestJet.
- No use at all in flight: Emirates, Etihad, flydubai, Lufthansa Group, Wizz Air, KLM, Turkish Airlines, Singapore Airlines, Qantas and many Asian airlines.
- You may use it: Ryanair (except taxi, take-off and landing) and Copa; Avianca does not ban use.
- Never in the overhead locker: nearly every airline below says so. Keep it in the seat pocket or under the seat.
- Over 100 Wh: IATA's 2026 guidance lists a power bank over 100 Wh as forbidden; some airlines still accept up to 160 Wh. IATA says its guidance applies until 31 December 2026 and the 2027 edition of its Dangerous Goods Regulations carries the changes.
What the authorities say
Rules were brought in country by country between March and April 2026. Read on 5 November 2026.
| Authority | What it says | Date |
|---|---|---|
| ICAO and IATA | At most two power banks per passenger for personal use; power banks must not be recharged from aircraft power; they should not be stored in overhead lockers or used to power devices during taxi, take-off and landing. IATA's 2026 passenger table lists power banks over 100 Wh as forbidden. | ICAO addendum effective 27 March 2026 |
| EASA (EU) | Power banks are spare batteries: not in checked bags, carried where they can be monitored. They should not be charged or used to charge other items in flight; EASA calls use "strongly discouraged", not banned. No number limit given. | Bulletin 28 May 2025 |
| UK CAA | Two power banks per person; 100 to 160 Wh needs airline approval; never recharged on board. See power banks in hand luggage (UK). | Checked 10 October 2026 |
| USA (TSA, FAA) | Carry-on only, up to 100 Wh, airlines stricter. See power bank rules for US flights. | Checked 5 November 2026 |
| Hong Kong CAD | Airlines can allow at most 2 power banks per passenger; recharging power banks in flight is strictly prohibited. | 28 March 2026 |
| Taiwan CAA | Hand-carried only, max 2 per passenger, charging during the flight prohibited. | 8 April 2026 |
| Singapore CAAS | Max 2 per person on flights departing Singapore; up to 100 Wh, 100 to 160 Wh with airline approval; not to be charged on board; advised not to use to charge devices. | 15 April 2026 |
| South Korea MOLIT | Max 2 per passenger, up to 160 Wh; charging the power bank and using it to charge devices are banned. | 20 April 2026 |
| Japan MLIT | Max 2 per passenger, 160 Wh or less; no charging the power bank on board and no charging other devices from it. | 24 April 2026 |
| New Zealand CAA | Up to 100 Wh; 100 to 160 Wh with airline approval; over 160 Wh not permitted. A limit of 2 power banks in carry-on starts 1 December 2026. | 1 December 2026 (not yet in force) |
| China CAAC | From 28 June 2025 power banks with no 3C mark, an unclear 3C mark or from recalled models cannot be carried on domestic flights. | 28 June 2025 |
| Brazil ANAC | Max 2, up to 100 Wh, 100 to 160 Wh with airline authorization; recharging on board prohibited; using a power bank to charge other devices is only suggested against. | 24 April 2026 |
| Germany LBA | Carry-on only; up to 100 Wh; 100 to 160 Wh with operator approval, then max 2. | Undated |
| Transport Canada | Carry-on only; recalled power banks must stay off and on the person. Other limits are left to airlines. | 8 August 2025 |
Europe: airline power bank rules
| Airline | How many, how big | Using and charging | Where to keep it |
|---|---|---|---|
| Ryanair | 2 (inside a 20 spare battery limit), up to 100 Wh | May charge devices, except during taxi, take-off and landing. Charging the power bank on board is not allowed. | On you or in the under-seat bag, not in an overhead locker. |
| easyJet | 2, each up to 160 Wh | Not to be used to charge other devices on board. | Cabin bags only, ideally where you can monitor them. |
| Jet2 | 2, up to 160 Wh (100 to 160 Wh approved automatically) | Not to be charged on board and not used to charge any device. | Under the seat in front, not in the overhead locker. |
| Wizz Air | 1, up to 100 Wh | Not to be used in any phase of the flight. | Under the seat in front or in the seat pocket, not overhead. |
| Lufthansa, Swiss, Austrian, Eurowings, Brussels Airlines, ITA Airways | 2, up to 100 Wh; 100 to 160 Wh needs airline approval; over 160 Wh not allowed | Charging and using are prohibited, except approved medical devices. Rules from 15 January 2026. | Not in the overhead locker: under the seat in front, in the seat pocket or on you. |
| Air France | Up to 160 Wh in the cabin; 100 to 160 Wh needs approval, max 2 in that range | The page we read does not state a use or charging rule. | Not in overhead bins; supervised and easy to reach. |
| KLM | 2; up to 100 Wh; 100 to 160 Wh ask permission first | Using or charging on board is not allowed. | Keep with you, not in the overhead bin. |
| Iberia | 2 portable chargers, up to 100 Wh | Not used at any point in the flight (page undated). | Not in overhead bins. |
| Vueling | 2, up to 100 Wh each | Cannot be charged or used to charge other devices. | In a visible place, never in overhead compartments. |
| TAP Air Portugal | 2, up to 100 Wh | May not be used or charged at any stage of the flight. | Under the seat in front or in the seat pocket. |
| SAS | 2 power banks, up to 100 Wh | May not be used or charged on board. | Not in the overhead bin; under the seat in front. |
| Finnair | 2, up to 100 Wh | Not used to charge devices in flight; not connected to the aircraft outlet. | Seat pocket or under the seat in front; not in the overhead bin. |
| Norwegian | 2, up to 100 Wh | Cannot be used on board (page undated). | Under the seat in front or in the seat pocket. |
| Aer Lingus | 2, up to 100 Wh | Must not be used or charged during the flight (page undated). | On you or in the seat area; not in overhead compartments. |
| Transavia | Count not stated on the pages we read | No using it to charge devices and no charging it from seat power. | Not in overhead compartments; under the seat, in the seat pocket or on you. |
| LOT Polish Airlines | 2, up to 100 Wh | Charging it or using it to charge other devices is prohibited. | Seat pocket or another visible place; LOT recommends not the overhead bin. |
| Icelandair | 2, up to 100 Wh each | Cannot be charged on board. | Not in overhead lockers. |
| Virgin Atlantic | 2; up to 100 Wh; 100 to 160 Wh needs approval; over 160 Wh prohibited | Never plugged into seat power and not used to charge other devices. | Somewhere accessible, not in overhead lockers. |
| British Airways | 2, up to 100 Wh (the 100 to 160 Wh approval form excludes power banks) | Seat power is for devices, not power banks. A rule on charging devices from one is not stated. | Seat pocket or the bag under the seat in front. |
Middle East, Turkey and Africa
| Airline | How many, how big | Using and charging | Where to keep it |
|---|---|---|---|
| Emirates | 1, under 100 Wh | Using a power bank on board is banned (from 1 October 2025). | Seat pocket or a bag under the seat, not the overhead bin. |
| Etihad | 1, up to 100 Wh | Use on board is prohibited, including charging devices or the power bank from aircraft sockets. | Easily accessible; Etihad advises avoiding the overhead locker. |
| flydubai | 1, up to 100 Wh | Use on board is prohibited, including charging. | Under the seat or in the seat pocket, not overhead. |
| Qatar Airways | 2, up to 100 Wh | The power bank may not be charged at any phase. A page says it may charge devices in non-critical phases while supervised, not stowed in the overhead bin. | Accessible; not in overhead stowage. |
| Turkish Airlines | 2, up to 100 Wh | Cannot be charged and cannot be used to charge other devices. | Under the seat in front or in the seat pocket, not overhead. |
| Ethiopian Airlines | 2, up to 160 Wh | Charging it from aircraft outlets or using it to charge devices is not allowed. Another Ethiopian page may differ. | Not in overhead compartments. |
| Royal Jordanian | Not published | Not published | Power banks go in carry-on baggage; nothing more specific on the page we read. |
Asia
| Airline | How many, how big | Using and charging | Where to keep it |
|---|---|---|---|
| Air China | 2, up to 160 Wh; over 100 Wh needs Air China approval | Not to be used to power any device and not charged from aircraft power. Needs a clear 3C mark on mainland flights. | Never in the overhead bin: under the seat in front or in the seat pocket. |
| China Eastern | 2; up to 100 Wh; 100 to 160 Wh with approval | Charging it and using it to charge other devices are banned. | Not in the overhead bin. |
| Japan Airlines | 2, up to 160 Wh | No charging the power bank and no charging other devices from it (from 24 April 2026). | Not stated in the notice we read. |
| ANA | 2, up to 160 Wh | No charging the power bank from aircraft power; ANA asks you to refrain from charging devices with it (from 24 April 2026). | Not stated in the notice we read. |
| Korean Air group (Korean Air, Asiana, Jin Air, Air Busan, Air Seoul) | Limits follow Korea's 20 April 2026 rule: 2, up to 160 Wh | Charging devices from a power bank has been banned since 26 January 2026; it may be carried but not used or charged. | On you, in the seat pocket or under the seat; overhead bins are banned. |
| Singapore Airlines | 2; up to 100 Wh; 100 to 160 Wh needs approval; over 160 Wh not allowed | Charging via seat power or USB and use of power banks are prohibited. | Seat pocket or under the seat in front, not overhead. |
| Scoot | 2 from 15 April 2026; up to 100 Wh; 100 to 160 Wh needs prior approval | Not to be used or charged on board. | Not in the overhead compartment. |
| Cathay Pacific | Max 2; the baggage page says under 100 Wh | Hong Kong law bans charging power banks via seat power and using them to charge devices. | Not in checked bags or overhead bins; under the seat in front. |
| EVA Air | 2 from 31 March 2026; up to 100 Wh; 100 to 160 Wh with approval | Use is prohibited (since 1 March 2025) and so is charging the power bank. | Under the seat in front, not shared overhead bins. |
| China Airlines | Max 2 | Use and charging of power banks are prohibited throughout. | Recommended not to store in overhead compartments. |
| Starlux | 2 (from 1 April 2026) | Use and charging are prohibited throughout the flight. | Must not be in overhead bins. |
| Thai Airways | Not confirmed on the page we read | Use of power banks on board has been prohibited since 15 March 2025. | Not stated. |
| IndiGo | 2, up to 160 Wh | Must not be used, charged or recharged during the flight. | Within reach, not in the bins. |
| Air India | 2 spare batteries, up to 100 Wh | Not stated on the page we read. | Power banks and spare batteries cannot go in overhead bins. |
Australia and New Zealand
| Airline | How many, how big | Using and charging | Where to keep it |
|---|---|---|---|
| Qantas | 2; up to 160 Wh; 100 to 160 Wh needs approval | Cannot be used or charged during the flight, including via in-seat USB. | Within reach: seat pocket or under the seat in front. |
| Jetstar | 2; 100 to 160 Wh needs approval; over 160 Wh not permitted | Use and charging on board are not permitted. | Within easy reach. |
| Virgin Australia | Over 160 Wh not permitted | Must not be used to charge another device and must not be recharged from aircraft power. | Seat pocket, under the seat in front or on you; not in overhead lockers. |
| Air New Zealand | Up to 2 power banks of 100 Wh or less each | The section on onboard use on the page we read was empty. | In your carry-on bag with terminals protected. |
Canada and Latin America
| Airline | How many, how big | Using and charging | Where to keep it |
|---|---|---|---|
| WestJet | 1 per guest | Charging a power bank on board is not permitted. Using it to charge a device is not permitted when onboard power is available. | On you and accessible, such as the seat pocket; not in overhead bins. |
| Air Canada | Carry-on only. Up to 20 spare batteries, of which 2 may be 100 to 160 Wh with agent approval | The page we read says nothing about using or charging on board. | Not stated. |
| LATAM | 2, up to 100 Wh | Cannot be plugged into aircraft outlets or used to power any device in flight. | Small bag under the seat in front, never overhead. |
| Avianca | 2, up to 100 Wh | Do not charge it from aircraft ports. Use in flight is not banned: avoid taxi, take-off and landing and keep it visible. | Seat pocket or under the seat, not in overhead compartments. |
| Copa Airlines | 2, up to 100 Wh | May be used to charge devices in flight, off for take-off and landing. Not to be recharged from aircraft power. | Visible, under the seat or in the seat pocket; never overhead. |
For US airlines see power bank rules for US flights (Southwest, Delta, American, United, JetBlue, Alaska).
What we could not confirm
These pages could not be read or gave no usable rule on 5 November 2026, so we do not list a rule for them: Saudia, Pegasus, Air Transat, Porter, Aeromexico, Volaris, Azul, China Southern (its page is dated 2022), Volotea, TUI, the Thai, Malaysian and Indian regulators, and the UAE, Qatar, Saudi, Turkish and Mexican regulators. If your airline is not listed, use its own baggage or dangerous goods page.
How many watt hours is my power bank?
The Wh rating should be printed on the battery. If it shows only mAh, multiply by the voltage (usually 3.7 V) and divide by 1,000: 10,000 mAh is about 37 Wh and 20,000 mAh about 74 Wh. About 27,000 mAh is the most you can carry under 100 Wh. A power bank with no readable rating can be refused.
Checklist before you fly
- Put every power bank in your carry-on, with the terminals covered or in a pouch.
- Count them: carry two at most, one if you fly Emirates, Etihad, flydubai, Wizz Air or WestJet.
- Check the Wh rating is printed and under 100 Wh.
- Charge your phone before you board; plan for no use in flight.
- If a bag is checked at the gate, take the power banks out first.
Sources: IATA guidance documents of 31 March 2026; EASA press release of 28 May 2025; the regulator and airline pages named in the tables, each read on 5 November 2026. Airlines change these rules often; check your airline close to your flight.
Frequently asked questions
Can I take a power bank on a plane?
Yes, in your carry-on only. Nearly every airline and regulator bans power banks from checked bags.
How many power banks can I take on a plane?
Two on most airlines. ICAO set a limit of two per passenger from 27 March 2026. Emirates, Etihad, flydubai, Wizz Air and WestJet allow one.
What size power bank is allowed on a plane?
Up to 100 Wh is accepted almost everywhere, about 27,000 mAh at 3.7 volts. Some airlines allow up to 160 Wh, such as Qantas, easyJet and Jet2; others need approval between 100 and 160 Wh.
Can I use a power bank during a flight?
It depends on the airline. Emirates, Lufthansa Group, Singapore Airlines, Qantas and many others ban it. Ryanair and Copa allow charging devices from it outside take-off and landing.
Can I charge my power bank on the plane?
No. ICAO rules say a power bank must not be recharged from aircraft power, and airlines such as Qantas, Singapore Airlines and Ryanair repeat it.
Can I put my power bank in the overhead locker?
Not on most airlines. Emirates, Lufthansa Group, Qantas and others say no. Keep it in the seat pocket, under the seat in front or on you.
Do power bank rules differ by country?
Yes. Hong Kong, Taiwan, Singapore, South Korea and Japan brought in new rules between March and April 2026, and New Zealand follows on 1 December 2026. The airline you fly sets the rule at the gate.
Are power banks banned from checked luggage?
Yes, on every airline we checked: power banks and spare lithium batteries must be in the cabin. If your carry-on is checked at the gate, take them out first.